top of page

Lead Me West

One of the first things I learned about my fiancé, Rob was that he was determined to pursue his PhD at Colorado State University. Knowing that he could someday move 900 miles away didn't sway me from continuing to date him. We had an instant connection that I refused to give up for something that wasn't definite.

The topic of him moving to Colorado was often discussed throughout our first months of dating. As our relationship progressed, conversations were about us moving there. I battled with myself if it was something I wanted to do: leave my family, my job, my friends, and the city I love, all for a town that I had never been to. My largest concern was that moving to Colorado wasn't my own dream or that I was moving just to be with Rob. It also meant giving up my life in Minneapolis that I have worked really hard for.

Over the past year I have felt my heart transform. Making this move has become my dream too. I crave adventure, opportunities for growth, and am in love with the Rocky Mountains. I feel called to move and make a change in my life. It feels liberating and terrifying with all the unknowns but I know I am ready...we are ready.

John Muir says is best, "The mountains are calling and I must go." See you in 2 weeks, Fort Collins.

bottom of page