top of page

Comfortable Uncertainty

I made it to Fort Collins! Whew! It's a relief to be here. 5 months ago I decided to make the move when my fiancé, Rob accepted his scholarship to Colorado State University.

Joy and anxiety filled me when deciding to move. Where am I going to live? Where am I going to work? Can I afford this? Struggling with how it was all going to happen, I lied awake at night asking myself the same questions over and over to the point of exhaustion. Feeling frustrated with these anxieties, I told myself I needed to be comfortable with the uncertainties in my life. I started taking it one step at a time, answering the questions I could, and reminding myself I wasn't doing this alone. Once the important steps were complete; finding a place to live, establishing a timeline, and being okay with taking a break from full-time work, patience was key. I stopped looking far in the future and enjoyed the present with work, friends, family, and my time in Minneapolis.

My last couple of months in Minnesota were fulfilling and a little unexpected. I found myself being a better friend by taking the initiative to reach out. I reconnected with some of the most important people in my life. It's both a blessing and a shame that it took a major move to reconnect. At work, I was determined to finish strong and make a difference. To my surprise, I ended up establishing a contracted position with my employer until I find full time work in Fort Collins. My last week in Minnesota was spent with my family in our hometown which we ended up calling, Annapalooza. It was the best decision to take off work a little earlier. I would have never been able to spend so much time with my family had I stayed in Minneapolis.

It is amazing to look back at the past 5 months of my life. Everything that has needed to come together has. Why did I worry so much? It all worked out.

Yes, there are still unanswered questions and uncertainties (there always will be) but I have learned how to be comfortable with it and to enjoy the ride. I am thankful for the struggles I have faced these past 5 months, they've equipped me with the knowledge and strength to take the next step in this crazy journey.

We celebrated our engagement / had a going away party with some of our friends by floating down the Apple River.

My sweetest friend/co-worker, Kelly surprised me on my last day of work with these treats. She was my rock this past year.

My last day in Minneapolis could not have been better. I spent it with my Aquatennial Ambassador Organization Family as a guest chaperone. We spent the afternoon on Lake Minnetonka, the AAO family dinner, and finished the day at the Rockin' the Waves dance. I cried tears of gratitude on my way home that evening. The AAO has truly inspired me to achieve an extraordinary future.

Day 1 of Annapalooza: dinner and drinks on the deck, impromptu golf contest and a family photoshoot with the deer camera in the garden. We're weird and we know it.

Day 2 was spent celebrating my Aunt Mary's birthday in Marshall with the Surprenant family. After this day, I don't really remember the order of the week. We did so much!

Girls lunch at Lola's in New Ulm and pedicures at our favorite salon.

Rob was able stop for a night on his way to Fort Collins. We had family dinner at George's in New Ulm. The waitress gave us a free cookie sundae to celebrate our engagement. :)

Turkey wrap dinner and Newsies movie night at Amy and Shawn's house.

Mom woke me up to have breakfast and coffee on the back garden patio together. It has always been something we enjoy doing when I am home.

I had to get lots of snuggles and pictures with Addie.

This was easily my favorite night of the week: our dearest family friends (Krzmarzicks, Windschitls, & Brinkmans) came over for a little party.

Last day in Sleepy Eye: girl's breakfast at my sister Amy's, packing, my brother's baseball game, and saying "see ya later" to my siblings. (Josie and Addie too!)

Can you tell how exhausted some of us are? Amy said she was looking forward to taking a nap when I left. I don't blame her one bit. ;)

bottom of page