top of page

Defining Unabashed


Besides my home page, I haven't shared my vision or goals I have for Unabashed. Today, I want to share all of those details with you!

I'll start with my earliest memory of wanting to have a blog. I think the inspiration started with YouTube. Late in my high school years I got sucked into watching vlogs (video blogs) on YouTube. I watched all types of content but the videos I was and still am drawn to are adventure and lifestyle vlogs created by people that don't portray themselves in a "perfect" & "edited" light. The creators are open about their struggles, and share their life experiences with their viewers. It feels raw. Seeing these videos sparked a desire within me to do the same but I held back. Know why?

Fear of judgement.

Many YouTubers have blogs along with their video content. Reading these blogs made me think it might not be as scary as video content. Wrong. It is. So again, I held back.

Fast forward to my Public Relations class during my junior year of college. Part of my final grade was designing and keeping a blog for the semester. I am thankful to my professor for forcing me into blogging. I don't know if I would have started without the push. I continued the blog after the semester was over and carried it through graduation.

Then there was a break. So long that I got locked out of my account and still can't log into it. Whoops!

I knew I wanted to blog again but wanted to be intentional in selecting the name and vision of this space. That process took over a year! My ideas were messy but the core of all of them was being authentic & vulnerable. I knew I wanted a one word title that resonated with me and hopefully do the same for others.

I sat on several names for long periods of time until I saw unabashed. It gave me chills. This was it. This word is what I want most for myself and for you! To lead a bold, confident, and meaningful life.

This blog is part of my unabashed life dreams. I hope what I share inspires you to do the same.

3 goals I have for Unabashed:

1. It's a safe place for you to come and be yourself & share your experiences

2. To create video content. This is a scary one. I have a few adventure vlogs in the queue but hope to create other types of videos. Recipes anyone?

3. To not abandon this space. I don't care how many readers I have. I feel called to this and want to stick with it. This is my happy place.

Next post | Nov 28th

Wedding Wednesday #2: "I don't want to be a stressed bride"

Xoxo,

Unabashed Anna

bottom of page