top of page

All Things Happy

Attitude is a choice. Happiness is a choice. Optimism is a choice. Kindness is a choice. Giving is a choice. Respect is a choice. Whatever choice you make makes you and affects others.

Choose wisely.

This week I've chosen all the above and I hope you have too. Rob and I are both at home and Laramie pup is thrilled. We are thankful for Colorado Early Colleges allowing employees to work from home and the support they are providing students. We are grateful for all healthcare professionals, cashiers, mail carriers, public safety, educators and all who are reporting to work each day to make our communities function.

As we reach the end of the week, I want to fill my little corner of the world with happiness, laughter, and light. Today I am sharing what we've been doing to keep ourselves busy and entertained. From funny YouTube videos, to workout ideas. I hope there is something here for everyone.

1. On Monday I created a list of tasks and activities for us to do. A few notes..

  • I am taking a Family Engagement in Education course through Harvard University for FREE. Yes, for free and it has been such a great experience. There are thousands of free online courses that you can take advantage of. Check it out!

  • Duolingo is a free language learning app. Rob has been brushing up on his German for months already and I have to get back to Spanish.

  • After Christmas I read a book with my Mom, sister, and cousin Kari. We met weekly over SnapChat video to discuss. It was a great bonding experience. You could do this with a friend or family. We read The Universe Has Your Back by Gabby Bernstein.

2. I made a playlist on Spotify and YouTube. The songs in this playlist bring me back to the happiest days of my life. The song I was crowned an Aquatennial Princess to. The song I had on repeat during the most demanding part of of my undergrad that pumped me up. The song that will forever make me cry happy tears over my dear friends, our adventures in Frisco, and all of our weddings. I encourage you to make a playlist with songs that bring you back to special times. Click the photo below to take you to the playlist.

3. YouTube videos that make me laugh. From Melissa McCarthy on SNL, to James Corden's musicals in the crosswalk, & Chris Fleming. I hope these make you laugh. Click the photo for the video playlist.

4. My favorite cooking and baking videos. The Try Guys crack me up with their Without a Recipe series, Binging with Babish recreates food from TV shows, and Bon Appétit always teaches me something new. There is also a video showing one of the markets we visited in Cusco, Peru. Click the photo for the playlist.

5. Videos I find entertaining, educational, or just make me feel good. From Mr. Beast's massive charitable acts to Paul McCartney singing in the car with James Corden, to Mark Rober's science experiments, and Jubilee's broad range of social experiments. I hope you find an escape here. Click the photo for the playlist.

6. When I'm not running or biking outside for a workout I'm doing yoga with Adrienne or burning my glutes with Pamela Reif. Adrienne will help you find some peace and Pamela will make you sweat within 5 minutes. Stay active, my friends! Click the photo for the playlist.

I hope you all find something to fill you up during this time. A comfort I found during this experience is knowing we are all in this together. I've seen tremendous acts of kindness this week and I'm sure it will continue. Remember to reach out to your loved ones and show appreciation for those on the frontlines. Let's spread the good stuff: love, light, and compassion.

Sending intentions of peace and health to you all.

The unabashed optimist,

Anna

bottom of page